Ha det bra (hou je goed!) - Reisverslag uit Bostad, Noorwegen van Marianne Talma - WaarBenJij.nu Ha det bra (hou je goed!) - Reisverslag uit Bostad, Noorwegen van Marianne Talma - WaarBenJij.nu

Ha det bra (hou je goed!)

Door: Marianne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marianne

08 Juni 2011 | Noorwegen, Bostad

Sorry it took some time to write something again. I'm doing ok, but there doesn't seem to go enough hours in a day--even if it stays light;)...
It hasn't affected my sleeping btw, I seem to have very elaborate dreams.
What have I been up to:
- finished the model, still drying in the mould (with horsedung yes)
-made copper fibula's with visitors, which was fun but timeconsuming
- worked on making a small needle on the same day with the visitors,
-smitted some carving tools(for soapstone moulds)

- ridden a big horse (Pirion)whose size seems intimidating but he was a bit of a coward (everything was 'scary')quite sweet though...
My spare time is filled with looking for literature ( a million things can go wrong with the firing of this mould- AARGH!-
social evenings with the people in the house (and friends)or horseriding/brushing ,which is a lot of fun after not having done this for about 10 years.

Weather was extremely rainy today--I got very wet shoes (twice!both my viking as normal shoes)and dried my socks above the furnace several times:)Sunniva (the conservator) lent me some better shoes and boots...bless her, my feet will be warm and dry tomorrow.
I rowed the small viking ship today(and I can say I make a pathethic Viking in that respect)and I was working on a shelter in case friday is bad weather.
I almost picked up a hammer when I remember I had to get more horsedung for the oven....
this better not be for nothing;) By the time I was building it I was so wet and cold I decided to leave it for the morning. The next couple of days will be better, and on Thurday I hope to see the midnightsun come up....

All is well, this week is exciting- I have learned a lot, but I'm rather nervous about this upcoming experiment that has this 'all or nothing' quality to it...
O yes, I hope to ride a horse with the apt name of Big Wolf (Stora Ulf) sometime this week:)
Will add pictures later

  • 08 Juni 2011 - 09:49

    Marjolein:

    Ah, so nice to read your journals. And now it's time for me to react!! It's really seems like you're having a great time with very nice people and you're learning a lot.
    I applaud you for riding the big horse. I'm a bit scared of horses hehe.
    Well, wishing you more great things to come! xxx Marjolein

  • 15 Juni 2011 - 18:12

    Christoph:

    It is really good to read about the far north. Also the pictures you have take are very impressive. Have a good time there and we will see each other soon.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marianne

Actief sinds 26 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 2405
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19614

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Mei 2011 - 20 Juni 2011

Smithing in the Viking Age (Noorwegen)

02 Mei 2010 - 01 Juni 2010

Opgraven op St. Vincent

Landen bezocht: