33 % - Reisverslag uit Bostad, Noorwegen van Marianne Talma - WaarBenJij.nu 33 % - Reisverslag uit Bostad, Noorwegen van Marianne Talma - WaarBenJij.nu

33 %

Door: Marianne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marianne

28 Mei 2011 | Noorwegen, Bostad

I'm on 1/3 of my internship now, and today I felt I had a bit of an off day.
I try to keep positive about the setbacks I encountered but the cumulative effect of these were, that I lost a lot of time trying to create a workable workspace with (as much as possible) the parameters that I set myself. Rather then resorting to the 20th century technology that is installed in the Viking smithy- what's the point. I came to experience the old way of metalworking!
I feel odd explaining it to the visitors why it is there, and I try to make a joke about it...but I don't find it very funny.
On the overal the people at the museum have been very nice and try to be accomodating as far as I guess is financially possible, but I was dissapointed at the state of the smithy, it's tools and the bellows of which one is dead and the other one is dying. I'm grateful to have been invited to this beautiful place, but at the same time, I feel some more attention could be given to the smithy, instead of putting the responsibility for it with the apprentice smith that usually works there.
I hope I find the time to either mend the bellows or make some but as I never have done it, I feel a bit lost, although there are plenty of manuals on the internet, then there is still the time I have. Still 2 weeks remaining before the reconstruction needs to be finished and 3 weeks before I leave Norway.

On the plus side, I've ridden a sweet museum horse yesterday. Her name is Wilhelmina.
Maybe I have new energy and spirit tomorrow.


  • 03 Juni 2011 - 09:27

    Mama:

    Hallo Nana,
    Leuk, weer op een paard!
    Kus, mama

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marianne

Actief sinds 26 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 408
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19623

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Mei 2011 - 20 Juni 2011

Smithing in the Viking Age (Noorwegen)

02 Mei 2010 - 01 Juni 2010

Opgraven op St. Vincent

Landen bezocht: